Handgun Laws – Concealed Carry States

Handgun laws differ from state to state and are changing each and every year. So if you are looking for the concealed carry handgun laws for your state, then this is place to be. We have put together a comprehensive chart of each states handgun laws. Some of the state laws are pretty crazy and wild were others are very practical and actually make sense. I hope you leave in one of the states with the practical handgun laws.

Concealed handgun laws by state

StateIssuing AuthorityCostLengthIssue TermsNotes
AlabamaCounty SheriffVaries1 yearMay issueLimitations exist for open carry within vehicles. ÒReasonable needÓ required for issuance of a concealed carry permit
AlaskaAlaska Dept. of Public Safety$94.255 yearsShall issueAnyone over 21 years of age may carry a concealed pistol without a permit. For purposes of reciprocity with other states, a permit may be requested and shall be issues.
ArizonaArizona Dept. of Public Safety$60.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted if the individual is over 21 years of age. Firearms carried in a vehicle must be transported in a case, holster or scabbard, storage compartment, truck, pack, luggage or glove compartment, Concealed carry is prohibited in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol; public schools, colleges and universities; polling places on election day; nuclear or hydroelectric power plants; and detention facilities.
ArkansasArkansas State Police$100.005 yearsShall issueIt is unlawful for a person to possess a handgun on or about his or her person, in an occupied vehicle, or otherwise readily available for use with a purpose to employ it as a weapon against a person. A detailed list of places in which concealed carry is prohibited is available at asp.arkansas.gov
CaliforniaCounty SheriffVaries2 yearsMay issueCarry permits may be applied for, but only in counties with a population less than 200,00. Once issues, the pistol may be carried concealed throughout the state. Carrying a handgun concealed with a vehicle is prohibited without a license. A handgun carried in a glove compartment or under the seat of a vehicle is considered concealed.
ColoradoCounty Sheriff$52.505 yearsShall issueOpen carry is generally permitted. It is unlawful to have a firearm other than a handgun in any vehicle unless the chamber is unloaded. Concealed carry is prohibited in all locations prohibited by federal law, prohibited in K-12 schools unless cased within a locked vehicle and prohibited in any public building that posts guards and has permanent metal detectors. It is unlawful to possess a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances.
ConnecticutConnecticut State Police$70.005 yearsMay issueA carry permit is required for a myriad of situations, including the concealed carry of a firearm on oneÕs own property when outside of the domicile. Persons who wish to possess firearms within the state of connecticut are advised to review the Connecticut General Statutes to determine the legalities of possessing and carrying a firearm.
DelawareDelaware State Police$65.002 yearsMay issueHandguns may be carried in open view, or in an inaccessible area like the trunk of an automobile. The application process for a concealed carry permit in Delaware is unusual in that it requires the applicant to publish the application within a local newspaper with a circulation of 35 percent or more of the county population. A safety course of live-fire training of at least 100 rounds is required as part of the application process.
FloridaFlorida Dept. of Ag and Consumer Services$117.007 yearsShall issueOpen carry is prohibited without a carry license. Employers may not prohibit their employees who are properly licensed under Florida law to carry a handgun, or from storing any legally owned firearm inside a locked, privately owned motor vehicle that is lawfully present in a parking lot maintained by the employer. Review the Florida state statute that governs concealed carry to determine where it is legal to carry a concealed firearm.
GeorgiaProbate Court$20.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry is prohibited without a carry license. Review Georgia state statute that governs concealed carry to determine where it is legal to carry a concealed firearm
HawaiiChief of Police or State Attorney General$10.001 yearMay issueThe possession of all firearms and ammunition is restricted to the possessorÕs place of business, residence or sojourn, but it is lawful to carry firearms and ammunition in an enclosed container from the place of purchase to the purchaserÕs home, place of business, or place of sojourn, or between these places when moving, or between these places and a place of repair or a target range. Discretion to issues a carry permit lies solely with the police chief of each island; the likelihood of a carry permit being issued within the state of Hawaii is very low
IdahoCounty Sheriff$20.005 yearsShall issueA person may carry without a license in oneÕs business or residence. Concealed carry Òupon or about oneÕs personÓ has been defined by the Idaho courts as encompassing the physical carrying of the weapon in clothing or handbags as well as going about with the weapon in close proximity and readily accessible for prompt use. The test for concealment is whether the weapon is carried so as not to be discernible by ordinary observation
IllinoisN/AN/AN/AN/AWhile concealed carry is still not permitted, in a recent ruling from the 7th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals, Judge Richard Posner argued that instead of a complete ban on concealed carry, Illinois must follow other states that have struck a balance between public safety and the constitutional right to bear arms.
IndianaIndiana State PoliceVariesVariesShall issueIndiana allows persons to apply for a 4-year permit for $40. Indiana residents may also apply for a lifetime permit for $125 The four-year permit may be renewed and roller into a lifetime permit for an additional $100 fee
IowaCounty Sheriff$50.005 yearsShall issueUpon application, the license shall be issued or denied within 30 days. The are two types of permits: professional and not-professional. Professional licenses are issued to persons whose job reasonably justifies being armed. Non-professional licenses are permitted for those over 18 years old with a clean mental health and criminal background check. There is a required training component prior to applying for the license.
KansasKansas Attorney General$150.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry without a permit is permitted. Concealed carry permit applicants must complete an 8-hour weapons safety and training course, be at least 21 years of age, a citizen of the U.S., and a resident of Kansas for six months prior to filing the application.
KentuckyKentucky State Police$60.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry of firearms is permitted except in certain restricted area. ÒConcealed on or about the personÓ has been recently defined as Òconcealment in such proximity to the person as to be convenient of access and within immediate physical reach.Ó Kentucky courts consider firearms located under a driverÕs seat concealed Òon or aboutÓ the person, and are therefore unlawful. Firearms located in glove compartments, locked or unlocked, are not considered concealed. Kentucky State Police shall issue a licenses or deny the application with 90 days
LouisianaLouisiana State PoliceVaries2 or 4 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. A property owner may prohibit access to his property by persons possessing concealed handguns. A permittee may not carry a concealed handgun into a private residence of another without first receiving the consent of that person; must retain and carry the permit on his person when actually carrying and concealing a handgun; and must notify any police officer who approaches in an official manner that he has a weapon on his person, submit to a pat down, and allow the officer to temporarily disarm him. Applicant must also complete an approved firearms safety or training course prior to applying for the permit.
MaineVaries$35.004 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. It is unlawful to carry any firearm concealed about the person without having a concealed carry permit. This includes carrying in an automobile glove compartment or other area where the firearm is under the personÕs control. Issuing authorities include the mayor, municipal officers or councilors of a city or town, assessors of a plantation, full-time chief of police or for non-residents, the chief of state police.
MarylandMaryland State Police$70.002 yearsMay issueMaryland law is currently in flux. Carry permits will be denied unless good cause is shown. ÒGood causeÓ includes Òmaking deposits, receiving money or cash flow, professional activities like doctors or pharmacies, correctional officers, former police officers, private detectives, and personal protection.Ó In order to use the personal-protection qualification, there must be documented evidence of recent threats, robberies and/or assaults, supported by official police reports or notarized statements from witnesses. Arguments were recently heard by the 4th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals to determine whether the current Maryland law is allowable.
MassachusettsMassachusetts State Police$100.006 yearsMay issuePermits are good for 6 years for residents, 1 year for non-residents. Two classes of permits exist: Class A permits allow unrestricted possession of firearms, while class B permits allow possession of restricted-capacity firearms ammunition feed devices.
MichiganMichigan State Police or Local County Gun Board$105.003 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. The application fee for a concealed carry permit is $105. The Sheriff may charge up to $15 for the fingerprints. If the applicant is not a prohibited person, the license shall be issued within 45 days after the receipt of the fingerprint analysis. The license is valid until the applicantÕs date of birth that falls not less than 4 years or more than 5 years after the license is issued or renewed. On December 2012, Michigan passed a bill allowing concealed firearms and previous off-limits areas including schools, churches, daycare facilities, dorms, casinos, and sports stadiums. The bill was vetoed however, open carry is still permitted within schools.
MinnesotaLocal Sheriff$100.005 yearsShall issueNo concealed carry permit is required to keep or carry a handgun about the personÕs place of business, dwelling, house, premises or land. In addition, no permit is required to carry a handgun between a dwelling and place of business. Concealed carry is prohibited in certain places, including schools, childcare centers or any private property that bans possession of firearms.
MississippiDept. of Public Safety or Mississippi Highway Patrol$100.005 yearsShall issueA person may carry a concealed firearm within his home, place of business or within his motor vehicle. New permits are $100, plus a $32 fingerprinting fee. Renewals are $50 plus the fingerprinting fee. Applicants must be a resident of Mississippi for 12 months prior to applying for a concealed carry permit. The requirement may be waived for active- duty military or for those with active permits from other states.
MissouriCounty Sheriff$100.003 yearsShall issueAny U.S. resident over the age of 23 who has resided in Missouri for 6 months, is a member of the armed forces stationed in Missouri, or who is a spouse os such member of the military can submit an application for a concealed carry endorsement. There is an extensive list of prohibited places for concealed carry. Review concealed carry statutes to determine it is legal to carry a CCW.
MontanaCounty Sheriff$50.004 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. A permit is required to carry concealed. Concealed is defined as wholly or partially covered by clothing or wearing apparel. Montana prohibits people from carrying concealed weapons inside buildings owned or leased by the federal, state or local government, financial institutions and within any place were alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed and consumed. Out-of-State concealed weapons permits are allowed in Montana if the person issues has the permit in immediate possession with official photo id and the state that issued the permit requires a criminal background check for permit applicants prior to issuance.
NebraskaNebraska State Police$100.005 yearsShall issueApplicants must be over the age of 21 and complete a safety course approved by State Police within 3 years of applications. Renewals are $50. A concealed handgun permit must be issued within 5 days of a success criminal background check. It is unlawful to carry a firearm a Nebraska State game refuge.
NevadaCounty Sheriff$105.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. Concealed carry applicants must include the make, model and caliber of each authorized semi-automatic firearm to which the application pertains; permits for revolvers pertain to all revolvers owned and need not be listed separately. Non resident permits are good for 3 years. State law has been interpreted to allow an individual to carry a firearm in his or her vehicle as long as it is not actually on the person or in a container carried by the person.
New HampshireSelectman, Mayor or Chief of Police$10.004 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. Concealed carry license must be issued within 14 days of application. New Hampshire does not recognize permits issued by other states to non-residents of the issuing state. Non-resident Ne Hampshire permits are $20 and are good for 4 years.
New JerseyChief of Police or Superintendent of State Police$20.002 yearsMay issueIssuance of the permit is discretionary, and New Jersey courts have upheld the policy of strictly limiting permits "two persons specifically employed in security work and to others who can establish and urgent necessity to carry guns for self-protection." When applying, a description including the serial number of every handgun the applicant intends to carry must be provided. Failure to give notice to an applicant within 60 days is deemed to be an approval of the permit.
New MexicoDept. of Public Safety$100.004 yearsShall issueLicenseeÕs permit card shall indicate the maximum caliber of handgun they may carry, and a statement that a statement of smaller calibers can be carried. No person shall carry more than one concealed handgun at any given time. All licensees must take a 2- hour refresher course within 26 months of the issuance of an original or renewed license. The course maybe taken 22-26 months after issuance. and a certificate of completion must be submitted to the department with in 30 days of completion. Effective Jan. 1,2013, concealed carry is permitted with in state parks.
New YorkVariesVariesVariesMay issueA license to possess a handgun also serves as a license to carry unless restricted. A license to carry or possess a pistol is effective throughout the state, except with in New York city unless a special permit is issued by the NYPD commissioner. Application requirements vary by county. An applicant for a license to carry outside the home must be required to show that Òproper causeÓ exists for a carry license. On January 15, 2013, Governor Cuomo signed S.2230 into law. Legal review of the new law is still ongoing. Under current analysis, it restricts magazine capacities to seven rounds. Magazines capable of holding eight to 10 rounds may be modified to comply. Magazines with a capacity greater than 10 rounds must be surrendered to the State of transferred out of state within one year. Law enforcement agencies will be alerted of those making Òlarge purchasesÓ of ammunition. The new law also requires background checks for all firearm purchases, regardless of whether it is purchased from a dealer or private citizen. As the law is new and the situation is in flux, there may be additional requirement and restrictions buried with the text of the law. NY State residents are advised to tread very carefully and (if necessary) seek legal counsel on the requirements of the new law.
North CarolinaCounty Sheriff$90.005 yearsShall issueA permit does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun on public or private school property, in any assembly where a fee has been charged for admission, in any financial institution, and in any establishment where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed. The governor of the state may exercise discretion when choosing to restrict firearms during a state of emergency.
North DakotaChief of Bureau of Criminal Investigation$45.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry in North Dakota is permitted between the hours of one hour before sunrise and one hour after sunset only if unloaded and in plain view or secured. Between the hours of one hour after sunset and one hour before sunrise, open carry is permitted only if the handgun is carried unloaded and secured. These restrictions do not apply to anyone in possession of a valid North Dakota concealed weapons license.
OhioOhio Highway Patrol or State Attorney General$67.005 yearsShall issueApplicants must complete a 12-hour training course, with 10 hours dedicated to safe handling, storage and firing of a handgun, and written exam. Two hours of each course must be dedicated to live-fire training. An applicant must be 21, a resident of Ohio for 45 days, and a resident of the issuing county (or an adjacent county) for 30 days. A new law signed on Dec. 20,2012, (which will effect 90 days later, on or about March 20, 2013) makes concealed carry in Ohio a little easier by defining the term Òloaded firearm,Ó and by eliminating recertification courses for existing permit holders.
OklahomaState Bureau of Investigation$100.005 yearsShall issueA 10- year license is available for $200. Authorization for one or more type of pistol (derringer, revolver or semi-auto pistol) requires training and demonstration of competency under an approved firearms instructor. It is prohibited to carry any CCW larger than a .45.
OregonCounty Sheriff$65.004 yearsShall issueIt is unlawful to possess a firearm loaded or unloaded in public building, such as a hospital, government building, school, college or university, or residence of any state official and the grounds adjacent to each such building. This restriction does not apply to individual licensed under Oregon law to carry concealed weapons. It is unlawful to possess a loaded firearm in a snowmobile.
PennsylvaniaCounty Sheriff or Chief of Police$20.005 yearsShall issueIt is unlawful to possess any firearm on school property, unless the weapon is possessed and used in conjunction with a lawful supervised school activity or course or is possessed for some other lawful purpose.
Rhode IslandAttorney General$40.004 yearsShall issueApplicant must be 21, a resident of the town where he or she is applying, and have a good reason to fear an injury to his or her person or property or have Òany other proper reason for carryingÓ a handgun and be Òa suitable person to be so licensed.Ó The applicant must apply to the licensing authorities in his or her community and must qualify on a certified range.
South CarolinaState Law Enforcement Division$50.004 yearsShall issueApplicants must be at least 21 and provide one current full-face color photo, proof of residence, proof of training and fingerprints.
South DakotaChief of Police, Country Sheriff or Secretary of State$10.004 yearsShall issuePermit holder may not carry a concealed pistol into an establishment that derives more than 50 percent of its sales from alcoholic beverages, a county courthouse, or school premises, including school vehicles or buildings. A permit is not required to carry an unloaded handgun in the trunk of other closed compartment of a vehicle or if it is in a closed container that is too large to be concealed on the person. A permit is not required to possess a handgun in oneÕs dwelling or place of business.
TennesseeDept. of Public Safety$115.004 yearsShall issueConcealed carry license applicants must successfully complete both classroom and range components of a handgun proficiency course. There is an extensive list of prohibited places for concealed carry Review applicable statutes to determine carry legality.
UtahDept. of Public Safety$60.005 yearsShall issueUtah will recognize a permit issued by another state. A person with a CCW permit may not carry in any secure area like an airport, higher education institution, courthouse, mental health facility or correctional facility.
VermontN/AN/AN/AShall issueOpen or concealed carry in Vermont is legal without any state-issued permit. A permit is required by residents or non-residents. It is lawful to carry a firearm openly or concealed provided it is not carried with the intent of injuring anyone. It is unlawful to carry a firearm within any state institution or on school property.
VirginiaState Circuit Court$50.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. It is unlawful to carry any firearm at any time in any school, unless permitted by the school. Firearms are allowed in vehicles if unloaded and locked in a container or trunk. ItÕs unlawful to carry a CCW onto premises that sell or serve alcohol, or into a place of worship while a meeting is being held.
WashingtonChief of Police or County Sheriff$60.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. A person may carry concealed without a license in his place of residence or business. It is unlawful for a person to carry onto or to possess on school premises or school-provided transportation, through those licensed to cary a concealed weapon may carry a firearm while picking up or dropping off a student on school premises.
West VirginiaCounty Sheriff$50.005 yearsShall issueNo license is required to carry a firearm on oneÕs own property. It is unlawful to possess a firearm on any school bus, school or at any school-sponsored function.
WisconsinState Dept. of Justice$50.005 yearsShall issueState law does not prohibit the open carrying of a firearm, and no license is required to carry in onesÕ home or place of business. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and show proof of attending a training course.
WyomingAttorney General$74.005 yearsShall issueOpen carry is permitted. Any person 21 years of age or older, who is not a prohibited possessor, may carry a weapon openly or concealed without the need for a license. All non-residents must possess a permit issued by the state of their residence. A wyoming resident may also apply for a concealed carry permit issued by this state in order to be able to carry concealed in those states requiring a permit. Review the applicable concealed carry statues to determine where it is legal to carry a concealed firearm.

Note: This summary is not intended as legal advice or restatement of law and should not be construed as such. This summary also does not include federal or local laws, ordinances, or regulations. Although accurate as of press time, firearm laws are subject to change and court interpretation. For any particular situation, a licensed local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation. YOU MUST ABIDE BY ALL FEDERAL , STATE AND LOCAL LAWS For additional information on handgun laws and concealed carry restrictions within specific states, visit the NRA’s website at nraila.org/gunlaws